Skip to content

How to Remove or Disable Contacts Synchronization in Facebook Messenger (Example)

25 de June de 2021

Today we are going to see how to remove or disable contact syncing on Facebook Messenger and we are also going to teach you how to delete or delete Facebook Messenger contacts. So that in this way not only your new contacts are not added, but you also do not have those that have already been synchronized.

Facebook Messenger gives you the ability to synchronize your contacts from both your phone and email with the application. On many occasions we accept this when we are installing the app without really thinking if it is what we want.

Luckily there is a way to unsync and quickly delete all contacts that have been added. All this in an extremely simple way with the tutorial that you can see below.

You must bear in mind that so that the contacts from your device do not continue to be loaded on Facebook, you will have to deactivate the synchronization both in the social network and also in Messenger. For this you will have to follow this simple tutorial:

  • Open the Facebook app and click on the three horizontal bars that are found in the upper right.
  • You are going to have to go down until you find the option of “Application settings”.
  • In this section you will find what we are looking for “Continuous contact load”Just flip the switch so it’s gray.

This will prevent Facebook from copying any of your contacts. Although it is still necessary to do the same from Messenger.

  • Open the Messenger app.
  • Now click on the profile photo which is in the upper left.
  • Scroll down until you find the section “People”.
  • Here you will see as a first option “Upload contacts”.
  • By clicking on this option we will go to a new screen where it explains to us that uploading contacts works for. You will simply have to click on “Deactivate”At the bottom of the screen.

This way you can disable automatic and continuous syncing of contacts in Facebook Messenger. As you can see, it is a very simple process that will take you just a few minutes.

On many occasions we do not want the contacts to be synchronized as it can lead to confusion. Luckily, deactivating this option is not complicated at all.

facebook messenger icons

In order to delete Messenger and Facebook contacts let’s do the following:

  • From a computer we are going to go to the friends icon on the Facebook page which is to the left of the received messages.
  • As soon as we click on said icon, a window opens and we must click on the option “Search friends”.
  • We are going to go to a screen where we can find suggested friends. However, what interests us is in the window on the right that says “Add personal contacts”. Click on “Manage contacts”To enter the contact management page.
  • Here you will be able to manage all the imported contacts that Facebook added both from your mobile contacts and from email. If you want to delete all the contacts that are available, click on “Delete all contacts” and ready.

You will have to go to consult the contacts that you uploaded in Messenger. Here you can see that a list appears with different contacts which have been extracted from the phone and the mail. Here you have the option to delete them all at once by clicking on the button that appears on the top left “Delete all”.

Remember that we have a great variety of tutorials and tricks not only for Facebook but also for Messenger. And if you have any questions about this tutorial you can leave it a little further down in the comment box, we will be happy to help you.