Skip to content

How to Remove or Delete an iPhone’s iCloud Account Before Selling or Giving It Away

12 de July de 2021

If you want to sell or give away your iPhone device, it is recommended that you remove or delete the iCloud account that you had registered in it. iCloud is responsible for performing a copy of all files and information containing your iPhone device.

This is why it is advised remove or delete iCloud account of an iPhone device before selling or giving it away. In this article we will show you how to do it.

What is iCloud?

iCloud is basically a storage system which is based on backing up and saving the content you have on your Apple devices, so that you can access them at any time through your iPhone, Mac, iPad or iPod Touch at the same time or separately.

This storage system works by hosting all the files, documents and information that you contain on your Apple devices, in a cloud over the internet. The iCloud platform was launched for Apple devices in 2011.

Currently it is one of the reasons why many of the users prefer to use Apple’s operating system. iCloud offers you functions such as making backup copies in the cloud and accessing your iCloud account through different Apple devices.

You can also use iCloud services to locate your Apple device in case of theft or loss, and of course one of the most outstanding features is that does not use storage space in the memory of your device.

iCloud takes up the most minimal information that you have on your Apple device and stores it on the internet. Even if all your content is uploaded to the internet, it will only be visible to the user who owns the account.

This Apple storage system has a total of 5 GB free for each user. It is a system one hundred per cent sure despite being anchored to the internet. In order to enjoy the services that iCloud offers to the Apple user community, it is necessary to create an Apple ID.

How to remove or delete iCloud account from an iPhone before selling or giving it away?

In order to delete your iCloud account Before selling or giving away your iPhone you can do it through the same iPhone device or through a computer.

To perform this procedure through the same iPhone device You just have to go to settings and locate the iCloud option, once here at the bottom of the screen you will see the option to “delete account” or “close session”.

When pressing on it, it will ask you for the your Apple ID key and it will ask you to confirm this action. Once confirmed, the iCloud account or Apple ID will be removed from your iPhone device.

In case you want to carry out this procedure through a computer, you need to enter the official iCloud page, log in with your username, select the “search” option in the menu and then select “all devices”.

Here all the devices linked to that account will be shown, where you will select the one you want to delete, and then click on the option “delete account“,”remove iPhone”Or”Sign off“.

To verify that your account was successfully removed from the selected device, you can verify from the same page in the option “Check activation lock status”And enter the serial number or IMEI of the device to verify and here it will be shown if it is active or not.

enter icloud account

How to transfer my iCloud data from one iPhone to another?

When you turn on the new device, the option to restore an iCloud backup, here you must put the data of your iCloud account, that is, the same data of your Apple ID.

Check that the backup you are going to restore is correct, you can verify this looking at the date of said backup. Then the device will start restoring all the content of the backup you have selected.

Once the backup restoration process is finished, follow the steps indicated by the system to successfully complete restoration of content.

During this process it is recommended to keep the device cconnected to a WiFi network and make sure you have the enough charge so as not to interrupt the backup restore process.