Windows has included a series of tools so that we can configure our PC as we wish, and we achieve this by traveling through all its functions. But to make things easier for us, this guide will show you in detail a feature that is of great interest, How to turn delete confirmation on and off in Windows. As we study this article, let’s look for ways to see What are the delete confirmation messages that can appear to you.
Let’s think, for example, what it would be like From the recycle bin and through Delete in your file manager, we will know this if we read this article carefully. We would also answer the following question: What do you have to do to be able to deactivate and reactivate the deletion confirmation messages? Let’s see.
What are the deletion confirmation messages that may appear?
The deletion confirmation messages that may appear are those that can be deleted from the recycle bin or directly byr Delete in your file manager. Before activating the deletion, a window is displayed which indicates certain details of the file that you are going to delete. In this way you have the possibility to correctly verify if it is the file you want to delete and thus accept or decline said deletion.
From the recycle bin
To confirm the deletion messages that may appear from the recycle bin, you just have to follow these instructions in detail:
- Proceed to right click on the file you want to delete, you will get a list of options, choose the one titled ‘Delete’, or use the ‘Delete, delete or erase’ key on the keyboard.
- This will be by default will send the file to the recycle bin, a verification window will be displayed, which you can decide ‘Yes or No’.
- Depending on the details seen, if it is the correct file that we want to delete, we should say Yes, if it is not the file that we want to delete, then we press No.
Delete in your file manager
To confirm the deletion messages that may appear when you Delete in your file manager, you just have to follow these instructions in detail:
- How are you removal method is direct, without the need for the file to go through the recycle bin, select the file.
- Proceed to make use of the keyboard shortcut, ‘Capital, Delete, erase or eliminate’ from our keyboard, which you will see that the icon is different.
- Being here, the recycle bin is no longer shown, if we accept ‘Yes’ here, it will be completely removed from your computer, without the possibility of recovering it from the recycle bin.
- In case you have regretted deleting the file, click on ‘No’ and the file will remain in place as you will see on the screen.
What do you have to do to be able to deactivate and reactivate the deletion confirmation messages?
In order to deactivate and reactivate the deletion confirmation messages, you just have to follow the following instructions that we are going to present in detail:
- Right click on the ‘Recycle Bin’, we go to ‘Properties’, a box will appear with the option ‘Show dialog box to confirm deletion’ checked.
- Next, if you are going to disable delete confirmation messages, uncheck it; and if you’re going to turn on delete confirmation messages, leave it checked.
- Next, let’s click on ‘OK’, now when we delete a file either directly or we want to send it to the recycle bin, if we deactivate it we will not receive said message.
- In case we have activated it, yes we will receive this message, let’s right click on the file, then ‘Delete’, if it is active a confirmation window will appear click on ‘Yes’.
Using your registry editor
To be able to deactivate and reactivate the deletion confirmation messages using your registry editor, you just have to follow these instructions in detail:
- We make use of the keyboard ‘+ R’ to set using the ‘Run’ choice, proceed to type the word ‘regedit’ and click ‘OK’.
- When you open your registry editor, you will navigate to the key HKEY_CURRENT_USERSOFTWARENMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionPoliciesExplorer, then right click on the panel on the right side.
- Click on New > DWORD Value (32-bit), rename it to ConfirmFileDelete, double click on the new DWORD to set the value to ‘as 0’, to disable the messages.
- To activate confirmation messages, click on New > String Value, rename it as Fileoperationgroup, double click and a small window appears, paste the following: HKEY_CURRENT_USERSOFTWARENMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionPoliciesExplorer.
- Then, double-click on the new DWORD to set the value ‘de 1’ and this will finish activating the confirmation messages.
- Finally, exit the Registry Editor and then proceed to restart the PC so that all the changes are executed correctly.
Using the Group Policy Editor
To be able to disable and re-enable the deletion confirmation messages using the Group Policy Editor on your Windows computer, just follow these instructions:
- We make use of the keyboard ‘+ R’ to establish the use of the ‘Run’ choice, followed by proceeding to write the word ‘gpedit.msc’ and click ‘OK’.
- When opening the Group Policy Editor, navigate to this ‘setting’: ‘User Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > File Explorer’.
- Locate ‘the panel on the right’ and double click on it ‘Show confirmation dialog when deleting files’and leave it activated.
- This will allow you to see ‘deletion confirmation messages’ when a file is deleted or when it is in the Recycle Bin.
- However, in case of proceeding or want to disable it, you will not be ‘show delete confirmation messages’.
- Now, exit the Group Policy Editor and then proceed to reboot the PC for all the changes to take effect.