Skip to content

How to Delete a Contact on LinkedIn? – Reduce my Professional network

16 de March de 2022

LinkedIn is currently the most widely used professional social network for connect companies and employeessince it has multiple features and tools that allow users to find a job or find a potential employee.

However, it is very common that people do not know how to use the LinkedIn platform properly, and even with basic things like deleting a contact on LinkedIn. So if delete a connection on LinkedInYou will only have to perform a few simple steps, but first you must take into account the consequences that it can have after deleting a LinkedIn contact.

If you want to delete a contact on LinkedIn, you’ll need to be aware that once you’ve deleted the contact will cease to be a first degree contact, and they will no longer appear in the Contacts section. In addition, the recommendations between both contacts are withdrawn.

The recommendations between both parties are withdrawn

It is important that before deleting a contact you take into account that after deleting that contact, automatically any existing recommendations or validations will be withdrawn between you and that contact. If you later want to add them as your contact again, the recommendations between you and that contact will not be reset.

Will the contact be informed that they have been removed?

If you fear that the contact you delete will know that you have deleted it, you can rest easy, since the platform once you delete a contact, the platform will not notify the contact that you have deleted it. In the event that you want to notify the contact, you must leave a message or contact them by other means.

To delete a contact you just have to login to your LinkedIn account, either from a computer or from your mobile device. If you want to access your LinkedIn account from your phone you will need to have the LinkedIn app installed, otherwise you will need to download the LinkedIn mobile app from your device’s app store.

From the profile of the specific contact

  1. Open the LinkedIn website.
  2. Sign in to your LinkedIn account.
  3. Go to the profile of the contact you want to delete.
  4. Click on the “More” button and then go to the presentation section.
  5. Select “Delete contact”.
  6. Once you’ve deleted the contact, remember to sign out of your LinkedIn account.

On the manage my network page

  1. Go to the LinkedIn website.
  2. Then sign in to your LinkedIn account.
  3. Go to the top of your screen and click on the “My network” icon.
  4. On the left side, you will need to click on “Contacts”.
  5. Then click on the “More” icon next to the contact you want to delete and then select on “Delete contact”and a pop-up window will open.
  6. In the delete contact popup, click “Delete”.
  7. Then remember to log out of your LinkedIn account.

Using my mobile device

  1. Open the LinkedIn app on your phone.
  2. Sign in to your LinkedIn account.
  3. Go to the profile of the contact you want to delete.
  4. Hit the “More” button.
  5. Click on “Delete contact” and a pop-up window will open.
  6. Then press “Delete contact” to confirm the action.
  7. Once you’ve deleted the contact you wanted, you’ll need to sign out of your LinkedIn account on your mobile device.

person using a phone and a computer

The difference between removing and unfollowing a contact is very simple as contacts are users who know each other or that they have a degree of connection on LinkedIn, so both can see your posts or updates. In addition, the application also allows both users to send messages to each other.

If you unfollow a LinkedIn user you will only see a change on your home page, because when you follow a person you only have the option to see the content they share on LinkedIn. So once you unfollow someone you will only stop seeing posts and articles on your home page.