Skip to content

(Cannibalization) How to send temporary or ‘bomb photos’ via Instagram Direct? – Android, iOS and PC

24 de July de 2022

One of the most outstanding features of messages on Instagram This is the option that allows you to send self-destructing files, in order to obtain better security of the elements you send in conversations, this function is called Instagram Direct, then we will teach you how to use the Photo Bomb function.

For a few years, Instagram added to its functions the use of temporary photos. This resource is very useful when we do not want to leave any evidence on a compromising image. If you still do not know how to use it, we will explain how you should do it.

How many photo sending settings does Instagram Direct have?

If your intention is to find a messaging option for hide actions or situationsInstagram Direct is one of the best platforms for this, in it you can send voice messages, photos, videos or other files with the option of not seeing them again if you leave the conversation.

Instagram Direct is the function that prevents you from seeing the conversation again, that is, when you exit this tool, automatically the information that lives here will be destroyed. With this option you will not be able to see temporary photos, videos or other files again. There are different configurations for this function, such as the following:

see once

It consists of the option that the person sees it only once, this with the purpose of protecting your files, Instagram does not prohibit the fact of capturing the screen, but even so, it will notify the action in the chat.

allow to see again

With this option you will make the person who is receiving the file see that element again, that is, by closing it the first one will be able to open it once more.

Keep in chat

If you need the person to see constantly the file that you are sending, you can press this option, since it will allow you to keep the photo for as long as the conversation exists.

What does the ‘Photobomb’ of Instagram mean?

How long does a photo last that self-destructs when the other person sees it?

If you are an old user on this platform, you should know that from time to time new functions are added to diversify their use. This gives you the ability to generate more engaging content. However, there is always some material that we have published or sent to a contact that we are not satisfied with, so we try to remove it from the account so that no one has access to it.

The novelty of temporary photos is that you do not need to delete them manually, because they self-destruct. In the application you have three shipping options; in the first, the user can only see the photo once and its duration is a few seconds.

instagram temporary photos

In the second, the person has your permission to view the image once more, after you have opened the photo the first time, so its duration may be a bit longer than before. In the third, your contact will have access to the photo for the duration of the conversation.

Procedure to send a temporary photo by Instagram Direct

The procedure for using the function self destruct messages it is very simple and easy to use, but except for forwarded text and voice messages. Follow the steps below depending on your device:

If I use Instagram from Android

  1. having the downloaded appyou will have to make sure that you have the most advanced version of Instagram, to verify it you can do the following:
    1. Enter the Google Play Store.
    2. Go to the profile icon.
    3. Then go into applications.
    4. Go to updates and see if you have any instagram update pending and click update.
  2. Now you must go inside the application.
  3. Being on the main screen of the app go to the Feed function.
  4. Now click on the paper plane icon that is in the feed option, they are located in the part of the screen.
  5. By entering this paper plane icon you have entered the Instagram Direct function.
  6. Now you must press on the chat tray and choose which address the self-destructing photo will be sent to.
  7. In this chat you must press on the camera.
  8. take the picture you want to send, you can edit it by placing some text, filter or emoji.
  9. When your photograph is ready from select ‘View once’ and send. With this option it will appear only once and then self-destruct.

Via iPhone Instagram

  1. You must have the latest version of Instagram for iOS, if you do not have it updated the application will not work properly.
  2. When entering the app go to the Feed option.
  3. In this function you have the option to enter Instagram Direct.
  4. Being here, go to the chat you want to enter the photo you want to self-destruct.
  5. Enter the camera and do the shot of the photo you want to add.
  6. Then at the bottom, select the ‘View Once’ option.
  7. When you have the shot ready, press Send.

  send by instagram photos bomb

How to activate the ephemeral mode in all Instagram chat?

The ephemeral mode is a function so that the messages you send or receive disappear once you finish the conversation. On the other hand, these chats can only be had between two users who follow each other on the Instagram app.

ephemeral mode on instagram

This tool was created as part of the new forms of privacy for your conversations, since it guarantees that your messages, audios, photos or videos are not saved anywhere. For activate it you just have to move your finger on the screen up and it will activate immediately. To deactivate it, you perform the same action again and you will return to normal mode.

What will the photos look like after self-destructing?

By having the See only once option activated, the image will self-destruct when the person or people who receive it see it, when entering the image at the top, the time that they will be able to observe it will be shown, in the case that they take capture Instagram will report it to you. When the image is viewed, only the part of the photo that says You received an image will appearleaving no trace of what kind of photo was there.

Once your user sees the image, only a circle with the word photo will remain to indicate that they were sent a portrait, but they will no longer be able to access it. It is important to mention that this feature is not active for the desktop version. So if you want to use it you must have your mobile application active and updated.

The temporary photo mode can be used in a chat with a single person and in group conversations. Your procedure for sending photos in groups is the same as for chats with a single person, the only difference is that when selecting friends you can press several.

How to know if my photos have already self-destructed on Instagram?

Fortunately, if you’re the one who sent the photo, know that the other person has no way of seeing the image again, unless you send it back to them. The advantage of this application privacy policy is that you can feel safe using their platform to send sensitive and important content.

This content will not leave any record on the other user’s account or device, or anywhere on the Internet. Another way to protect your privacy is when the recipient wants to take a screenshot of your image, automatically the application will inform you with a notification so you can do something about it.